The 43rd annual NJROTC Inspection for Suwannee High School (SHS) was held at Paul Langford Stadium Friday evening, February 19, 2016.

            The SHS cadets were inspected by Commander (CDR) Brandon Kaser, the Executive Officer Navy Recruiting District Jacksonville. Guests of honor for the inspection included Ms. Kathy Aukerman, secretary for SHS, U.S. Army Veteran, and the secretary for the NJROTC Booster Club, and Mr. Malcolm Hines, SHS principal and retired Sergeant Major in the U.S. Army.

            CDR Kaser judges the cadets on proper wearing of the uniform, grooming standards, and general knowledge questions. The cadets of Suwannee high’s NJROTC Program are led by commanding officer, Kayli Burkett, and the company guide is Makylah Jackson while Master Sergeant, Doug Aukerman, prepares his cadets throughout the year for the inspection.

            The highly decorated cadets showed off their various skills participating in exhibition drills throughout the night. The unarmed drill team performed and was led by Cadet Breanna Pruett. Drill members included Cadets Alex Barber, Kalyi Burkett, Breanna Hale, Makayla Jackson, Guadalupe Romulo, Shari Brannon, Marcelina Flores, Hayley McClain, Emerald Powell, Amber Bradford, Marisley Leal, Melina Hnatio, Cassandra Ziemba, Tayla Davison, Dezmond Thomas, and Jacqueline Hall.

            The armed drill team also participated in a routine. They were led by Team Commander, Cadet Lieutenant Pablo Flores. Drill team members are Cason Adams, Andrew Cook, Christian Dixon, Bryce Baily, Brittany Hernandez, Joseph Hernandez, Miranda Hill, Jordyn King, and Charles Demotto.

            This year the ROTC had an air rifle team perform led by Cadet Master Chief Breanna Pruett. Team members included Brittany Hernandez, Joseph Hernandez, Andrew Cook, Jordyn King, Dylan Brown, Lewis Kearce, Marisley Leal, Dezmond Thomas, Cason Adams, Christian Dixon, Christian Juarez, Amber Deaton, and Breanna Hale. They participated in four different rifle postal events.

            Master Sergeant Aukerman then acknowledged the 16 graduating cadets. The senior cadets moving on are Chiquandra Bryant, Kayli Burkett, Andrew Cook, Tayla Davidson, Hayden Fleming, Yeyson Gonzales, Makylah Jackson, Charles Law, Chelse McKire, Jessie Minatree, Monte Perez, Breanna Pruett, Katarina Raabe, Jamie Strickland, Nedia Vences, and Theodore Wilson.